x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
      • PGA Tour Schedule
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • Subpar
      • Seen & Heard
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Winner’s Bag
    • Shows
      • Fully Equipped
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
    • Collections
      • The GOLF Collection
      • The Birdie Juice Collection
      • The Fully Equipped Collection
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
    • PGA Tour Schedule
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Winner’s Bag
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • Subpar
    • Seen & Heard
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Fully Equipped
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • The GOLF Collection
    • The Birdie Juice Collection
    • The Fully Equipped Collection
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
InsideGolf

InsideGOLF: +$140 value for $39.99

Join Today
Rules

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?

By: Rules Guy
November 12, 2024
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

What do the rules say about testing the depth of a bunker with a tee before hitting?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Our course has a few refurbished bunkers built with an Astroturf base and revetted faces of stacked Astro­turf. Some of the bunkers only have a thin coating of sand, which can produce bladed shots when the wedge’s bounce hits that Astro­turf base. I know the new rules don’t allow you to test the surface with your hand or club, but what about checking the sand’s depth with a long tee? —Jim Cumberbatch, via e-mail

Stacked Astroturf … it sounds like the club hired Old Tom Morris as the architect and Sanford & Son as the contractor! In point of fact, the Rule number — 12.2b(1) — may have changed but this Rule hasn’t, namely, players are prohibited from touching the sand in a bunker to glean information about it for the next stroke. No hand, no club, no tee, no rake, no garden shovel.

The penalty also remains the same — the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play and loss of hole in match play. More commonly, should you come across a bunker with little to no sand not staked as ground under repair, you can: Play two balls, one as it lies and one taking relief, and get a ruling later from the commit­tee (stroke play only); play under stroke and distance, replaying from the prior spot with a one-stroke pen­alty; or, under the new ball-unplay­able rule, drop outside the bunker, using back-on-the-line relief, for two penalty strokes. Also, if they replace the greens with shag car­peting, find a new course.

For more bunker-related guidance from our guru, read on …

Rules
Rules Guy bunker
Rules Guy: Is it legal for my partner to smooth the sand in my bunker?
By: Rules Guy

A local course designer here on Vancouver Island wanted to be the next Pete Dye — he built a large bunker with steep railroad ties in the face, and two separate staircases to get in and out built into the ties. Naturally, my ball came to rest on one of the stairs’ steps, which were so steep that no shot could possibly be played. As it was a tournament, there was a rules guy present, who said I got free relief outside the bunker, treating the ties and stairs as if I had embedded in a grass face. Was this correct? —Mike Marshall, Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada

Was this rules guy calling himself “Rules Guy”? If so, our lawyers would like to have a word with him…

Regardless, he didn’t adjudicate the matter as if the ball were embedded; he treated the railroad ties and stairs as what they are, namely, immovable obstructions.

The Committee must determine whether such obstructions are inside the bunker or out, and in this case it sounds as if they were considered the ladder, er, latter. (A ball on top of an IO where sand normally would be, would be treated as in the bunker, but this is not really the case for stairs or railroad ties on the wall.)

Ergo, you got free relief under Rule 16.1b for being in the general area since the ball was not technically in the bunker, the ins and outs of which one can learn more by reading Rule 12.1.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from GolfLogix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Western Birch Signature Bamboo 3.25″ “Camaro” Golf Tees

– Box of 50 Tees with 3.25″ length – Premium Bamboo material with a thicker shank golf tee creating more durability – Red & blue stripes – FREE SHIPPING
View Product

Latest In Instruction

3 hours ago

Eliminate penalty strokes for good with this clever strategy

7 hours ago

2 keys for playing golf at elevation, according to LIV pros

1 day ago

The secret behind Justin Thomas’ crazy clubhead speed

1 day ago

How a simple grip change can fix your bunker shots

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Rules
New golf clubs on white isolated background

Rules Guy: Is it against the rules to use a weighted club?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Alligator in water

Rules Guy: My ball landed in a water hazard .. on an alligator. What now ?!

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfers talking in a circle on course

Rules Guy: Is it a penalty if you give the wrong information about which stroke you're on?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
man replacing ball

Rules Guy: When replacing your ball from off the green, can you intentionally line it up?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf ball on edge of hole

Rules Guy: How long can you wait for a ball to drop in the hole in match play?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Is it permissible to play a full round of golf using a rubber tee from the driving range? Rules Guy has the answer.

Rules Guy: Is it legal to play a round using a rubber driving-range tee?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
PGA golfer Rory McIlroy hits out of a fairway bunker on the 2nd hole during the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro AM on February 2, 2025, at Pebble Beach Golf Links in Pebble Beach, California.

Rules Guy: Can you practice from a different bunker than the one you're in?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
What do the rules say about taking relief from newly-planted trees that haven't been staked?

Rules Guy: Can you take free relief from newly planted but unstaked trees?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Two male golfers going through a round of golf

Rules Guy: What happens when teammates hit the wrong ball in a four-ball match?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved. All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.