x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
Rules Guy: Can a ball marker be considered a training aid?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
      • PGA Tour Schedule
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • Subpar
      • Seen & Heard
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Winner’s Bag
    • Shows
      • Fully Equipped
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
    • Collections
      • The GOLF Collection
      • The Birdie Juice Collection
      • The Fully Equipped Collection
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
    • PGA Tour Schedule
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Winner’s Bag
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • Subpar
    • Seen & Heard
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Fully Equipped
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • The GOLF Collection
    • The Birdie Juice Collection
    • The Fully Equipped Collection
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
InsideGolf

InsideGOLF: +$140 value for $39.99

Join Today
Rules

Rules Guy: Can a ball marker be considered a training aid?

By: Rules Guy
June 9, 2020
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Hand marking ball with quarter

Is there ever a time when a ball mark could be considered a training aid?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

We’ve seen the putting drill in which you focus on a coin or mark so as not to move your head. Is a ball marker considered a training aid? Is there a rule that says I must pick up my marker after placing my ball? Once I place it down, isn’t the ball in play regardless? If so, can’t it just be played at that point? —Jim O’Neill, via email

Not fair, Jim — you’ve cleverly snuck four questions into one!

Still, you get only one answer, and that answer is an emphatic No!

A ball marker must be lifted before a stroke is made. Failure to do so is a one-stroke penalty, under Rule 14.1a, and you must play the next shot from wherever the ball comes to rest. That would certainly be a black mark on one’s Rules record.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Editor’s Picks

Here's the daily testing process for pros at the PGA Tour's Charles Schwab Challenge

Here’s the daily testing process for pros at the PGA Tour’s Charles Schwab Challenge

Where we left off: Who was in position to win PGA Tour Rookie of the Year?

Where we left off: Who was in position to win PGA Tour Rookie of the Year?

11 things you (probably) forgot happened during the 2019-20 golf season

11 things you (probably) forgot happened during the 2019-20 golf season

Why Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson feel your video-conferencing pain

Why Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson feel your video-conferencing pain

Latest In Instruction

3 hours ago

2 keys for playing golf at elevation, according to LIV pros

1 day ago

The secret behind Justin Thomas’ crazy clubhead speed

1 day ago

How a simple grip change can fix your bunker shots

1 day ago

This 'hallmark' of elite ball strikers is absent in high handicappers

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

InsideGOLF

InsideGOLF Exclusive: Martin Chuck shares tips to turn a training aid concept into sales and success

Rules
golf ball behind fence

Rules Guy: Are you allowed to take a swing through a fence?

By: Rules Guy
Gear
KlockIt Golf

How the pandemic's golf boom inspired one woman to take up the game — and invent a new swing aid

By: Jessica Marksbury
Rules
golf balls

Rules Guy: In a four-ball match, do you have to share a wrong-ball penalty with your partner?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
two men standing on a green

Rules Guy: What do you do when your match is interrupted and you forget to mark your ball?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf cart driving

Rules Guy: What do you do when your ball lands on a golf cart that drives away?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Rory McIlroy headcover

Rules Guy: Is it legal to take a practice swing with the headcover on?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
tree stump

Rules Guy: Can you move a loose impediment like an old tree stump to assist your stance?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
upset golfer

Rules Guy: What is the penalty for holing out with the wrong ball?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved. All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.

Go to mobile version